Follow this guide to learn how to apply and complete your application for a Specialist designation with the Canadian College of Specialties in Optometry. The Specialist designation and title, CCSO(S), is conferred on candidates who have met the requirements in a specific field or discipline of optometry. Examples of specialties include:

  • Cornea and Contact Lenses
  • Community Health Optometry
  • Ocular Disease
    • Glaucoma
    • Ocular Surface Disease
  • Pediatrics
    • Binocular Vision / Vision Therapy
    • Myopia Control
  • Vision Rehabilitation
    • Low Vision Rehabilitation
    • Neuro-Optometry

To receive the CCSO Specialist designation, complete the following steps in order:

  1. Become a Fellow of the CCSO. See the Fellowship Application Guide for details.
  2. Complete the CCSO Specialist Application Form and pay the $250 specialist application fee.
  3. Complete all of the point-generating requirements to qualify to become a Specialist of the CCSO – A minimum of 150 points are required to process your application. Acceptable point-generating activities are listed in the CCSO Specialist Points Guide.
  4. Complete one or more discipline-specific CCSO Specialist Educational Modules.
  5. Once Steps 1-4 have been completed, you will be contacted to schedule your discipline-specific Oral Exam and Skills Exam (OSCE).

Should you require any additional assistance with any step in this process, please contact the CCSO office.